The Senate is composed of the entire professorial staff. It files the motion to the Executive Board of the University for the election and discharge of the President and Vice Presidents. Furthermore, the Senate can issue formal statements on issues of university-wide significance. Petitions to the Senate have to be submitted in written form to the Secretary General up to three months in advance.

As a rule, the Senate meets twice a year. The meetings are organized by the General Secretariat. Due to the substantial increase in professorial staff in recent years, the number of seats held by delegates from the bodies represented in the Extended Executive Board were raised proportionately in 2013: each body can now send representatives for each 3% of the number of professors. These seats are allocated proportionally among the faculties. The Senate is currently made up of more than 700 voting members with the President as chairperson.